Creating Groups of Users

This article covers group creation workflow for Cintoo account.

Permissions: users with Administrator or Project Manager role can create groups of users for better user management.

TABLE OF CONTENTS


Creating a Group

In Users & Permissions, it's possible to create a specific group of users. Add or delete users from groups at any time, which will directly impact those users' access to projects to which they have been invited to.

  1. From burger menu at the top right corner select Users & Permissions.

     

  2. Select Groups tab and click Add group.

     

  3. In Add group pop-up window enter Name, choose Color and Description.

     

  4. Click Create, then add members to the group by picking in Users directory, or by providing a list of emails separated by a comma.

    Once users have been added, they appear in the directory for this specific group.

    At this stage, it's still possible to add users, delete users, duplicate the group or delete it. Each user can individually be removed by clicking on Trash button at the right of the list.


Managing Group Members

From the list of actions, it's possible to view group details with the list of members, to search for any individual to adjust the level of access to the project and to remove group from the account.

Group composition itself stays managed in Groups tab of Users & Permissions, where members can be added or removed at any time for every project the group belongs to.


Adding a Group to a Project

Groups created here are added to a project from Groups tab of Add Member window, where a chosen role applies to all members of the group at once.

Group then appears in Members list as a single entity.

Note: if some users of a deleted group have been invited individually or as part of another group for the same project, they will remain active in this project with the permissions given by other invitations.

How Group and Individual Invitations Combine

  • If a user is added or deleted from a group, its access to this project will be updated accordingly and automatically.
  • If a user in one group has been invited to the same project individually or as part of another group, its permissions on this project will be the cumulated permissions provided by these 2 invitations. For example:
    • Invited as part of a group, a user can be assigned the role of a simple Viewer.
    • Invited individually or as part of another group, a user can be assigned the role of an Engineer.
    • User's role on this project will be the cumulated permissions of the Viewer + Engineer.

Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select at least one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article